Poomsaes 1-8 in one file.
• poomsae.pdf - (1.5 mb)

Taegeuk Il Jang

The first poomsae, Taegeuk Iljang, contains the basic techniques every student learns in Taekwondo: basic stances, blocks, attacks and kicks. Despite all that, Taegeuk Iljang is the hardest poomsae to learn, because the techniques require breaking old habits and learning new movements, not necessarily complicated, but harder to execute to anyone who never trained in martial arts before.
Learning the poomsae requires great coordination because one must perform several techniques simultaneously in conjunction with remembering the flow of the poomsae, breathing right, adequate strength and so forth, in order to achieve a complete and harmonic poomsae.

Taegeuk Iljang represents the symbol of "Keon", one of the 8 Kwaes (divination signs), which means the heaven and "Yang". As the "Keon" symbolizes the beginning of the creation of all things in the universe, so does the Taegeuk Iljang in the training of Taekwondo.

Additionally, you can access the website of the Kukkiwon (The World Taekwondo Headquarters) for a more comprehensive information about the poomsae.

^Back to top

Taegeuk I Jang

Taegeuk Ijang symbolizes the "Tae", one of the 8 divination signs, which signifies the inner firmness and the outer softness. Taegeuk Ijang is a continuation of the first poomsae, which adds new techniques and develops a new level for the trainee. among the new techniques are a fist to the face and a more extensive use of the front kick.

• 2nd poomsae - Kukkiwon

^Back to top

Taegeuk Sam Jang

Taegeuk Sam Jang symbolizes the "Ree", one of the 8 divination signs, which represents "hot and bright". This is to encourage the trainees to harbor a sense of justice and enthusiasm for training. The third poomsae combines the techniques from previous poomsaes and adds several new ones. In this poomsae you learn a new stance, the back stance, as well as new attacks and blocks and new transitions. Taegeuk Sam Jang is characterized by consecutive blocks and attacks, counterattacks and multiple kicks.

• 3rd poomsae - Kukkiwon

^Back to top

Taegeuk Sa Jang

The fourth poomsae symbolizes the "Jin", one of the 8 divination signs, which represents the thunder, meaning great power and dignity. Taegeuk Sajang incorporates greater use of the back stance and a lot of new techniques including a new kick - the side kick, also fingertip strike to the sternum, combined attack and defense and more...

• 4th poomsae - Kukkiwon

^Back to top

Taegeuk O Jang

Taegeuk Ojang symbolizes the "Son", one of the 8 divination signs, which represents the wind, meaning both mighty force and calmness according to its strength and weakness. The 5th poomsae has several new stances - right, left and cross stances - and attacks - hammer fist attack and elbow attacks. This poomsae is characterized by consecutive attacks and blocks.

• 5th poomsae - Kukkiwon

^Back to top

Taegeuk Yuk Jang

Taegeuk Yukjang symbolizes the "Kam", one of the 8 divination signs, which represents water, meaning incessant flow and softness. New techniques include one hand blade twist block, roundhouse kick, upper outer block, double low block and palm hand block. There is emphasis in the poomsae on the location of the foot after the roundhouse kick and the height of the palm hand block.

• 6th poomsae - Kukkiwon

^Back to top

Taegeuk Chil Jang

Taegeuk Chiljang symbolizes the "Kan", one of the 8 divination signs, which represents the mountain, meaning ponderosity and firmness. The 7th poomsae includes low knife hand block, supported palm hand block, scissor block, knee strike, wedge block, two fist attack, cross low block, back fist strike to the side of the head, target kick, side fist and such stances as tiger stance and horse riding stance. Smooth connection of movement is important for training.

• 7th poomsae - Kukkiwon

^Back to top

Taegeuk Pal Jang

Taegeuk Paljang symbolizes the "Kon", one of the 8 divination signs, which represents "Yin" and earth, meaning the root and settlement and also the beginning and the end. This is the last of the 8 Taegeuk poomsaes, which may enable the trainees to undergo the Dan (black belt) promotion test. New movements are double front kick, supported outer block and low block, jumping kick and turning elbow strike. Emphasis must be laid on the accuracy of stepping and the difference between jumping-over kick and alternate jumping kick in the air.

• 8th poomsae - Kukkiwon

^Back to top


homepage    history    taekwondo    dojang    techniques    photos    videos    updates    contact
poomsae    tests